Thunder without any thunder #cycling

One for the archive…

Today was the first ride without the electric kit. The batteries have got weaker and weaker and it feels more like I am carrying their weight rather than the other way around.
Sure, I’ve lost probably 5KG from the bike by removing the kit, but I’ve also lost 2MPH from my average speed! Maybe one day when I’ve improved my route and fitness I’ll regain the speed?
I’m currently borrowing the wheel from my wife’s bike until I get a new one, the advantage of having 26″ wheels on more than one bike! It is a shame my Claud Butler has 700C wheel, bloody city bikes.

The electric kit was originally destined for my wife’s bike, but the motor is so wide that it won’t fit her forks, so I kept it on the Thunder instead.

One response to “Thunder without any thunder #cycling

  1. A few months later I took some good photos of the electric-less setup that I had https://timscyclingblog.wordpress.com/2011/10/14/my-cycle-commute-setup-part-1/

Leave a Reply

