Let there be light

Today, with the help of my ladder footer / rope puller [dad], I cut down two huge branches from a tree that was blocking a lot of light from the end of the garden and from my (bike) shed. I also cut down two large branches from two smaller trees at the end of the garden that were also blocking light. Granted all this is a bit late for the apple tree that only gave a few small apples this year, but it’s getting a lot more sun now and I have high hopes for next year.

I should have taken a couple of photos, but I was a bit too focused on getting all the work done without crushing the (bike) shed with one of trees or me!
Here is a photo that kind of shows what the tree was like (it’s actually a photo of the cat drinking from the bird bath):

Here’s a photo of the wood (the small branch and leaf pile was massive and no photo would do it justice):

Here’s the final outcome:

Again as photos go this is rubbish and doesn’t show how much extra light there is on the apple tree and (bike) shed.

I’m really happy with how this turned out, the (bike) shed survived and is now in a lot less danger.
Oh, final thought on this, I’m pretty good at throwing hammers attached to pieces of rope.

p.s. reality will hit home tomorrow as I’ll be carting the tree remains to the skip for most of the day, isn’t that what days off are for?

Leave a Reply

