My cycle commute setup part 1

First up, I love my bar bag, it contains a lot of useful stuff for easy access in bad weather (so I don’t have to open my office pannier bag and get my clothes wet or dirty). I hope to cover the contents in detail in part 2, but for now the interesting things to point out are the ice cream tubs (I don’t endorce that flavour ice cream, coconut is my favourite!). The tubs keep things together, there are three tubs in total. The top one does pop open from time to time, so I do want to source a better tub for the top one, yet another TODO 🙂

The cycle compute isn’t setup correctly, it serves more as a clock than anything else, but it is useful having a clock at times. The pink rag (typical, I take a photo when it’s pink, my rags are normally black or white, honest) is very useful for wiping oil from fingers, wiping hands after emergency maintenance or wiping poo off – it happens!
Ding, ding! A bell is sometimes useful, but not that often as I’m normally braking hard rather than dinging the bell.
The bar bag has many uses including a place for my mp3 player as I’ve killed many expensive mp3 players on wet days, so keeping it in the bar bag has saved it from sweat and water and is recommended! Also the mp3 player I currently have is worth a mention, the Sony Walkman B Series, it has recovered after lots of sweat and abuse, so it gets my vote. As for headphones I strongly advise only buying from a real retailer (e.g. Dixons) to ensure you avoid the fakes out there. I currently use the Sennheiser CX 300-II Precision and they are pretty good for the money.
Also the bar bag is a good place to store a battery for my Airbike Everlight SL1:

Of note in that photo is the light bracket 🙂 Bicycle light bracket DIY
Since my backup bike is kitted out in the same way (same rack, rear light brackets, bar bag mount) I am ready to use either bike when required. The only minor difference is the light bracket, that one is using an accessory bar:

Other than my lights, my mirror is by far the best piece of safety kit that I have, I feel naked on a bike without a mirror. Cateye do very good rear lights and mirrors.

The grips (though not pictured very well) are Ergon GP1, these add extra comfort for longer commutes and rides.
A bike bottle cage is useful, 1 litre fruit squash or pop bottles fit well and can be recycled when they get horrible, shop bought ones require careful cleaning to keep the bacterial down. Smaller 500ml bottles go in the cycling t-shirt cargo pocket instead.
On the back rack go the pannier bag and bike locks – d-locks can be strapped on with a toe clip strap, I think this is a top tip, others might not. If attached correctly it won’t wobble or move.

This photo also shows two, yes TWO, cateye lights, I believe this is the best option, see my other post about them.

Hopefully part 2 will follow in future!

4 responses to “My cycle commute setup part 1

  1. Pingback: My cycle commute setup part 2 | Tim's cycling blog

  2. Pingback: Rucksack or pannier bag | Tim's cycling blog

  3. I’ve now ditched the bike locks, they stay at home and I’ve bought new ones to leave at work, see https://timscyclingblog.wordpress.com/2012/04/03/trying-hard-not-to-lose-it-but-at-the-same-time-losing-some-cycling/

  4. Pingback: Trying hard not to lose it but at the same time losing some #cycling | Tim's cycling blog

Leave a Reply

