There’s no profit in peace, but there is profit in cycling!


After reading a blog post: Cycling Coder – Why bikes “expensive”
I thought I’d add my pennies worth on my blog about it too.

People (non cyclists in this case) thought I was mad paying £1000 for a ten-year old touring bicycle. I am mad, but not for that reason, the bicycle is still worth £1000 even after a years worth of cycling.
An item is only worth what people are willing to pay for it, whether it is new or second-hand you might say.

If I were a normal person on the street I would:
– spend hundreds of pounds per year on a gym membership and not actually go.
– spend hundreds of pounds extra per year for a fancy phone contract when there is nothing wrong with my current phone.
– spend £1500 per year on petrol commuting to work (this cost keeps going up too).
– plus many other expensive things

I am not normal, I don’t need gym membership, fancy phones or petrol to get to work, I am a cyclist and doing the maths, my bike has actually saved me money, how many hobbies do that for you?

The next time someone says “you spent how much on that?” or “it cost how much, I could buy a car for that?” then remember my words “they aren’t necessarily stupid, but they aren’t cyclists either”.

8 responses to “There’s no profit in peace, but there is profit in cycling!

  1. Nice blog Tim, and I agree with what you say, though I’ve yet to spend that much on a bike. One thing you forgot to mention, commuting on your bike provides all sorts of health benefits.ri

    • Yes, time is (mostly) at a premium, but the drive is not much shorter and the train takes longer (given the long walk to the station too).
      The non-financial benefit is my weekends are free for anything other than sports as I’ve done my weeks exercise in the commuting and so the wife doesn’t have to sit at home grumbling that I’m out on a ride when she wants to go food shopping etc.

      I’m originally from North Wales, but haven’t lived there since I went to uni, unfortunately I only did local cycling as a teen, so I haven’t seen the best bits by bike (yet!).

  2. Once again, I have to agree with you, it’s great having done all one’s exercise, leaving the weekend free. When I was a lad living in Barry, I only cycled locally, 30 years or so later I restarted cycling, then commuting, but I’m trapped in this valley of mine, only travelling down and back up, to and from work even when I go for a spin on the weekends. I long to go for a long ride, 50 or even 100 miles in a day. Never seem to get the time, but one day eh?

    • 50 miles is a sunday morning ride if you can get up and ready early enough, then you’ve still got the rest of the day to enjoy/recover.
      Another option is to take the long route home on a friday evening, that is a nice treat.
      But in my opinion a 30 mile night right is a delight, so very different from the busy day traffic I see, of course a good set of lights that flood the road is required.

      • I live in a beautiful valley, and I’m fortunate that if I want to extend my commute home I can go via a coastal cyclepath along Aberavon, even as far as Swansea and Mumbles, but once again time is of the essence. I also have an alternate route home, up the other side of the Neath valley, but it is more hilly, and worse a narrower, winding road which oncoming traffic makes extremely dangerous cycling. Nobody seems to care what might be around the corner. I love riding at night, albeit on wide roads, now winter is just about here most of my commute will be in the dark, because I work 12 hour shifts.

        • Sounds good, I’m miles from the coast here, but plenty of small hills to make the ride interesting and get me out of puff. A costal ride would be lovely. Wyt ti’n lwcus iawn 🙂
          It sounds like you’d need good lights on those roads, I believe in spending money on the least amount of things possible (I’m tight), but I’m happy to spend money (£180) on decent lights, they are critical to my safety. What lights do you have?

          • I have a good light set up, which allows me to light up the pitch black roads at the times I travel, but nowhere near as expensive as £180. I combine a £50 , torch type, plus one my son bought me, no more than £20 or so, at the front, then two good strong reds at the back. But I’m hoping to win an expensive light set-up from Evans Cycles (lol).

            • £180 (a couple of years ago now) breaks down a bit like this:
              £120 front light (Airbike Everlight SL1)
              2 x £30 rear light (Cateye TL LD1100)

              I also have a few spares lying around that aren’t up to scratch compared with what I use, though one makes a good torch as the spot is bright. I used to do all my weekday riding in darkness!

              If I really had to choose, I’d ride a cheaper bike and own these lights than own a decent bike and cheap lights. But fortunately I sold the wife’s car and put the money into cycling as running one car is saving us a fortune now. To me lights are more important than a helmet and definitely more important than the wife’s car.

Leave a Reply

