Black bike locks hide the oil

When I bought my first D-lock many years back now, it was grey, that was a good colour because black oil was visible and I could wipe it off on a rag rather than getting it all over my hands. Recently I’ve been mysteriously getting oil on my hands on a regular basis and today I figured it out, my bike lock is black, it hides the oil so I don’t see it to wipe it off.

Will I remember to regularly wipe my lock? Probably not.
Will I lock my bike up differently? Probably not, I lock the rear wheel through the stays, which is a good method – other than occasionally the lock hangs down or rests on the chain.

Leave a Reply

