Oil change and tiny service

Thursday and Friday my chain popped off once on the way to work and once on the way back. This is a sure sign I needed to tighten it, so I planned to give my bike a tiny service of sorts today.

My chain was jam-packed with grit and muck, more so than usual, so it’s another sign it was due.
Well, to add to this, checking my records, I was a few miles past oil change schedule so I thought I’d better do that too.

Clean chain – Spare rags, WD-40 and a broken spoke to clean. Finish Line Cross Country Wet Chain Lube to re-lubricate. Sometimes I use a chain cleaning device, but then you have to clean that, wash the chain in water to get the citrus degreaser off, use WD-40 to (attempt to) drive the water out then re-lubricate. Other times (like today) I just use the WD-40 and rags to clean the chain with the broken spoke to poke out the hard to reach chunks of filth. The chain cleaning device works better but always seems a bit more of a faff.

Tighten chain – Loosen eccentric bottom bracket bolts, rotate bottom bracket, tighten bolts again. It is important to have some play in the chain, leaving the chain tight will cause extra stress on the internals of the hub and in theory cause premature wear.

Rohloff oil change – Since winter is almost upon us I used about 15ml Rohloff oil and about 7ml Rohloff cleaning oil.

Checked brakes – I’ve kept them tuned up, so I was checking the state of the pads, they are looking worn still, no surprise there, I’ll change the front ones next time I think. I picked out a small amount of aluminium from the front pads.

As per usual I thought about cleaning the frame and wheels, but it’d only be dirty again by Friday so I didn’t bother.

5 responses to “Oil change and tiny service

  1. I admire your commitment. I’ve been having trouble with my front derailleur, couldn’t reset it to work properly, after I decided to adjust it. In the end I took out a Bikecare with Halfords, asked them to replace the gear and brake cables. Which the mechanic did, and of corse he reset up all the gearing. A result as far as I’m concerned, the Pioneer is now going a dream.

  2. I admire your commitment. I’ve been having trouble with my front derailleur, couldn’t reset it to work properly, after I decided to adjust it. In the end I took out a Bikecare plan with Halfords, asked them to replace the gear and brake cables. Which the mechanic did, and of corse he reset up all the gearing. A result as far as I’m concerned, the Pioneer is now going a dream.

    • For these very reasons I own a Rohloff. The gears are internally indexed and once setup they never need re-indexing. An expensive luxury, but unless someone steals my bike I will continue to reap the benefits of the initial investment. Of course there is no chance I would trust Halfords with a Rohloff, not that they would know what to do with one either as they don’t sell them.
      Glad to hear your commuter is back up and running and I also think it’s a wise move on your behalf. One thing I’d be careful of is that they may charge top wack for the parts. I personally like chosing every aspect of my bike, from brake pads to bottom brackets, but then I have to fit the darn things too.

      • Yes, Rohloff would be a step too far for Halfords bike mechanics, for now, but they are much improved. Despite the Bikecare plan I will continue to try to do some of my own maintenance, but it will be the backup that a novice like myself needs.

  3. That’s my cover blown, I don’t know why my real name came up in that reply

    edit by Tim: It’s OK, I’ve edited your name out before approving, so nobody saw it 🙂

Leave a Reply

