I thought the point of the Rohloff is that you don’t have to fiddle with it every week

In defense of my bike and my fiddling:

I don’t fiddle every week, once month normally, but the fiddle is a lot easier than a derailleur bike.

You also forget my weekly mileage!

I do like a reasonably clean chain, if I can see the gritty sludge then it’s time for a clean, my wet lube makes it go dirty quicker, but I like wet lube.

Also a lot of work I’ve had to do on the bike is because it is a ten year old bike, so lots of things were at the end of their service life – not the hoff though 🙂 – and this would be the same for any second hand bike and probably a lot worse were it a derailleur bike.

I’ve done all the servicing myself without too much difficultly and I’d never have got a derailleur setup this perfect on my own, I’d have had to pay a bike shop lots of money to do it for me.

I’d have worn out a second hand alfine hub by now (8000 miles) and a second hand derailleur would be in the bin too.

You live with a bike that needs maintenance, I just maintain mine so it is always in near top working order.

4 responses to “I thought the point of the Rohloff is that you don’t have to fiddle with it every week

  1. Re your last sentence: Me too! 🙂 Good blog!

  2. Why do you prefer wet to dry lube?

    • Wet lube keeps the water out better, doesn’t wash off so easily etc. But it attracts dirt more, so don’t put too much on and wipe off excess if you want to do it proper, I don’t bother.
      I use finish line cross country wet lube.

  3. I just might give it a try. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

