What day is it too foggy to overtake a cyclist on a blind corner?

There is nothing new in impatient drivers overtaking when they really shouldn’t, generally resulting in the oncoming traffic honking their horn in anger (or worse).
Drivers should take more care when overtaking on a foggy day, but a driver this morning was really taking a big risk. It was a really foggy start to the day and the road surface was damp and slippy in places. The road was an S bend and blind from where he/she began overtaking, I was in the middle of the road (my side if that makes sense) as I was shortly going to be taking a right hand turn (in the middle of the S bend). My road position should have been enough to indicate that overtaking wasn’t a good idea, but I think the oncoming car gave him/her realisation of this, luckily there was no collision and I was safe (I think).

I’m looking forward to computer controlled cars made out of polystyrene driving at 20 MPH since people are incapable of driving cars safely.

2 responses to “What day is it too foggy to overtake a cyclist on a blind corner?

  1. I call it the selfish syndrome which appears to inhabit 95% of car drivers.

Leave a Reply

