Fresh road surfaces along my regular commute are a welcome back #cycling

What a joy, returning to my regular commute after a few weeks away only to find that the worst areas of my commute have been resurfaced. I was overcome with joy as I flew over the smooth roundabout at 20MPH that I used to have to slow down at and still risk losing my fillings. I’m sure it hasn’t made a noticeable difference to the speed of my commute, but it felt quicker and certainly more fun. I also tried to count them, but I’m not that good at that, so all I know is there are at least 4 separate pieces of road that Berkshire roads people have resurfaced. Bog all done for me in Surrey and Hampshire, but Berkshire is most of my commute anyway.

Another place that was starting to become annoying was a shared use path (one side painted for foot people, the other for bicycle people) where the paint was barely visible, the foot people just didn’t have a clue which side they should be walking on. I was months away (closer than it sounds) from actually making a complaint to the council. So the fact that it too has been repainted made me wonder what else was going to go my way on Monday, sadly nothing else out of the ordinary did, but the day still felt like Christmas to me.

I was also thankful for having such a good bicycle, it has performed through rain and snow with minimal maintenance, sometimes I take it for granted, but a break away from my machine makes me appreciate how good it really is.

Enjoy your ride.

One response to “Fresh road surfaces along my regular commute are a welcome back #cycling

  1. I’ve been commuting on my folding bike all winter on all kinds of chewed up pavement, so I know the thrill of newly paved road – they just can’t get to it fast enough though.

Leave a Reply

