Spring in the garden (again, but with pictures) #gardening #green #money

The end of the garden needed some use, so I’ve taken up gardening!

I went a bit mad this year and planted all the onion sets I bought in a 500g net, I’ve got onions everywhere! I need my neighbours to take up growing their own so we can share sets, seeds etc. Whilst we are deciding what to plant in the front, there are onions there too, at least it adds some green shoots rather than plain soil. Notably the sets in the front were untouched by the blackbirds, but there are a fair few missing out the back where they spend more of their time.

The front onions LHS:

A few plants then some more:

The front onions RHS:

(argh, weeds growing too now)

At the back:

The new apple, plum and damson trees are showing signs of blossom and small leaves, but the old bramley is still pretty bare.
The pixy plum:

The damson:

The Bramley:

The Spartan apple tree:

It is about to flower, when the fruit buds come they are to be taken off so it puts its resource into growing rather than a couple of tiny apples.

The raspberry is slowly sprouting some leaves:

We really enjoyed the bush last year (our first year here), so I’m hoping it will provide a nice crop this year.

The strawbs are flowering nicely:

They were poor last year, so fingers crossed for this year. They are in big pots, I feel like planting them in the garden, but it’s another thing I should have done already and I don’t want to disturb them at this stage.

My runners are about 10cm high, slug munched, but hanging in there:

I started them off in the door-less green house, some weren’t ready, so they are waiting to be transplanted:

(a lot of slug pellets surround them now, at least 20 dead slugs I’d seen within 24 hours!)

Broccoli and also leek seeds sown, eagerly waiting to see some growth there (see top image between the new trees, broccoli on left and leeks in centre, right will hopefully be potatoes).

I’ve been meaning to plant my potatoes for some weeks now, they’ve sprouted (chitted) a little, but as they have been in a cool place they haven’t done that well. I keep putting them off as there’s a fair amount more digging to be done, but this weekend maybe…

I’m amazed how into this growing my own I’ve become, maybe my love of food and hate of spending money combines into a good (second) hobby for me. I do hope it’s worth it, we should save a fortune and really make the most of what I hope the garden will provide us.

3 responses to “Spring in the garden (again, but with pictures) #gardening #green #money

  1. What a super garden! Quite sheltered at the end. Does it face south? Our hen eats slugs. Not the big ones though! I put copper tape around the top of our raised bed to keep out the slugs. It works! But there’s a problem. Can you guess what it is?

    • The garden is a good length, lots of potential, but no time to make the most of it.
      Unfortunately it is East facing, the neighbour has a massive Birch tree and the NR trees over the fence are massive too. But I’m hoping there’ll be just enough light to get some things growing.

      Your copper gets hot in the summer sun?

Leave a Reply

