The all important first ride (in a Burley) #cycling #burley

I’ve finally got around to posting this up…

The first ride, important for both me and the baby.
Unfortunately the Burley only fits the Nexus bike, because of this issue with Bluebell (Thorn Raven Sport Tour):


Easily solved by buying a new (different style) hitch, but as of yet I haven’t.

The setup:

Ready:

Test ride, you’d be amazed how bumpy my lawn is!

Out on the open road:

I then took him on a short loop (max 1 mile), he was quiet the whole way apart from when he started complaining because we were waiting for a while (OK, ages!) at a set of traffic lights.

My Burley is second hand, it’s a Burley Solo, I’m happy with it, though I have nothing to compare it to, so I won’t review it other than to say they are a big investment.

Since this I have taken him up a mid sized hill (i.e. a hill that is a bit of a grind, but my chest doesn’t feel like it’s going to explode), sure it was a grind with him on the back, but fun to whizz down the other size as roadies were slogging up it, some had a bemused look about them, as if to say how did you cycle up this hill with that on the back?

2 responses to “The all important first ride (in a Burley) #cycling #burley

  1. Yes, how did you cycle up with that at the back? Fantastic.

Leave a Reply

