Lunchtime walk with a difference #cycling

I fancied getting away from my desk this lunchtime, a walk I thought, nah, too boring, let’s take Bluebell for a spin.

Four miles later and I was back at the office ready to eat my lunch and take on the rest of the day.
Ok, maybe I had a moan about the awful cycle path design that’s been recently (since google streetview) implemented on a pointless piece of path that goes nowhere. Wasting my taxes on paint, dismount and end of cycle path signs….

Anyway, I think it’s something I’ll try and do again, that is when I’m not cycling the kilometre into town to buy lunch. On that note the time it takes to walk into town is massive, can’t be bothered with it, but the ride is a joy.
It’s also nice to do these short rides in normal clothes without having to dress up for the occasion. It also makes me wonder why people walk and why more people don’t just hop on a bicycle? Could it be said awful cycle paths? Roads “allocated” to cars rather than all road users? Fear? OK, who cares, I’m a confident and competent cyclist who uses the road for what it is meant for………… CYCLING!

Ah, quick Q & A, can you guess which is more, the damage done to the road from:
A lorry
Several cars
A dozen cyclists

Proportionally who do you think pays more for the roads compared to the damage done?

OK, I have more, but I’ve said enough now and I’m at peace with the subject for now.

2 responses to “Lunchtime walk with a difference #cycling

  1. Of the Q&A I think its the Lorry but I’m guessing it could be a trick question but I think the Car pays more but I don’t have much to base this on.

    • Cars don’t pay any extra towards the roads, cyclists pay the most per measure of damage caused. Remember some cars are also excise duty free (but the duty doesn’t go to the roads anyway).
      If you are a smoking, drinking, car driver who often cycles instead of driving, then you are being completely screwed. Give up the fags and booze for a start, you’re unlikely to give up your motorised umbrella [car], but cycling more is a step in the right direction.

      Lorries cause massive damage and are the biggest factor in pot hole creation after the weather I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

