Microsoft live.com Google Authenticator code not accepted :(

I was getting frustrated with live.com (Hotmail as I still call it) and its two factor authentication, it just wouldn’t accept the code from my Authenticator app on my phone.

I re-installed it, fiddled with everything, it just wouldn’t setup again.

It turns out the time on the phone is critical to the generated code, my phone has automatic time sync turned off, so over time, the time was a minute or more out. I set the time correctly (using an internet time server for reference) and the app now links up correctly with live.com.

Leave a Reply

