Dark so early? Time to buy new lights #cycling @bike24net

In the UK we’ve just lost British Summer Time daylight saving and my gosh did I notice the loss of daylight, that hour really did change my commute home. I love riding in the dark provided I’ve got adequate lighting, but my main light is no longer good enough and my spare is just about usable, so it was time to replace them.

Most of the lights I looked at were massively expensive, powerful and put more light on the sky than on the road.

In September 2012 I bought a hub dynamo and a Busch & Müller Lumotec IQ Fly RT front light from bike24.com. I like the light, it’s courteous to other road users and efficiently puts light on the road while still making me very visible, so I wanted something similar but with a bit more power.

Fortunately Busch & Müller now have a more powerful dynamo light and a very good battery light that don’t break the bank, even with the awful pound to euro exchange rate.

So I’ve ordered them from bike24.com:

Busch + Müller Lumotec IQ-X LED Front Light – 164RTSNDI-01
(http://en.bumm.de/products/dynamo-headlights/lumotec-iq-x.html)

Busch + Müller IXON IQ Premium LED Front Light Set – 1922QMLA
(http://en.bumm.de/produkte/akku-scheinwerfer/ixon-iq.html)

There aren’t such good reviews of the IXON IQ, apparently it breaks easily, well, I’ll just have to be careful with it 🙂

Fingers crossed they both arrive safely and work as well as I hope they do, it’d be nice to have something that lasts another 4 years without any issues, the cheap lights on Amazon etc won’t that’s for sure.

The weather has also become cold too, it’s only the start of November and I’m already in my winter jacket and gloves!

2 responses to “Dark so early? Time to buy new lights #cycling @bike24net

  1. I’m very much in the same boat as you. I’ve had a pair of front light sets for the past three years or so, alternating between them for recharging purposes, but the rechargeable batteries have just about given up the ghost. So I’m hoping to invest in new lights via my employer’s Cycle to Work Scheme, and I’ve been looking on the internet cycle stores. Big problem is there is so much choice out there, and picking the right one is daunting. Anyway, hope your new lights do the job for you, good luck and happy pedalling.

    • Thanks for the comment, glad to see you are still going. I’ve gone for road specific beam patterns, which there are fewer of, so my choices were more limited. Have you considered a dynamo?

Leave a Reply

